Do Dogs Like Wearing Clothes and Shoes?

We all love dressing up our dogs from time to time because it looks cute on them but do the dogs actually like it? Read on to find out more!

**The comfort aspect really might be an issue for some dog owners.( I had to find that out the hard way.) For example, about a week ago I bought my dog, Ruth, a really cute pink shirt that says “I Love mommy”. I put it on her and she immediately started chewing at it and literally destroying it. It looked absolutely adorable on her. I couldn’t wrap my head around why she didn’t like it. Then I realized maybe she doesn’t like wearing clothes.**

According to Petmd.com, this topic can be doubled sided. What I mean by that is that some pets don’t like it while others need the extra layers. Smaller, toy bodied dogs would require extra layers in the winter to keep warm but the larger canines have thicker, longer fur so they don’t need it as much. Larger dogs with thicker fur find extra layers to be very uncomfortable and bothersome. Their thick furs are already designed to keep in heat and insulation, that’s why in the summer you see the dogs panting a lot and drinking more water.

Petmd says that “How warm your dog is able to physically keep himself may depend on his breed, size and even age, but if he just doesn’t have a heavy hair coat, there is only so much curling up he can do to conserve heat.” If you have a smaller canine breed such as a Chihuahua, then the extra layers might be helpful but if you have a Siberian Husky, Malamute or other breed that is suited to cold temperatures and have long fur, then your dog wont necessarily need it.

At the end of the day, even though it may look cute and adorable, your dog might not like It. It should be in your best interest to see what works for your pet and what doesn’t. Happy Dog Days Everyone!!!

#ImproveYourLifeWithSomeOfGabbysAdvice. 🙂

**: That was my personal experience, I had with my dog Ruth.**

Have you ever been in a situation like mine? if so, tell your story! just comment below and don’t forget to subscribe to my page (gabbysadvice)!!!!!!

For more info on the topics I discussed in my post go to: http://www.Petmd.com/dog/seasonal/evr_dg_sweaters_for_dogs

Leave a Reply

